Sunday, May 24, 2020

Industrial Revolution Is Defined By Britannica - Free Essay Example

Sample details Pages: 3 Words: 887 Downloads: 9 Date added: 2019/05/07 Category History Essay Level High school Tags: Industrial Revolution Essay Did you like this example? Frankenstein written by Mary Shelley, was a novel set in Europe written in the mid 1800s, but set in the late 1700s. Throughout this time period, Europe was undergoing drastic social and economic changes. Many of these changes were a direct result of the Industrial Revolution in Britain. This time period is often described as an era of exploration, discovery, and industrialization which pushed the limits of what the world was capable of. Within Frankenstein Victor Frankensteins life after creating the monster is a depiction of how Mary Shelley feared technological advancement without consideration of consequences, and she came to this opinion because of the effects of the Industrial Revolution on her life. She became wary of advancement simply for the sake of advancement. She forced her readers to ask themselves what price is to high to gain knowledge? Don’t waste time! Our writers will create an original "Industrial Revolution Is Defined By Britannica" essay for you Create order The Industrial Revolution is defined by Britannica as the process of change from an agrarian and handicraft economy to one dominated by industry and machine manufacturing (Britannica). Mary Shelleys Frankenstein serves as a critique to what In the novel, Victor Frankenstein aimed to create life and nothing could stand in his way. He worked fervidly to create what he deemed as the perfect human. The summer months passed while I was thus engaged, heart and soul, in one pursuit (41). Victor drove himself to the brink of death from his relentless obsession with this creation. He became so entangled with his task that he ended up neglecting his family, his friends, his career, and any concern for his own life. This discovery of such dangerous knowledge sucked all emotion and joy from his life and only served to cause him pain. His situation continued to worsen, as his creation systematically destroyed his entire life. Everyone he had ever cared for was strangled and Victor spent the remainder of his life in constant misery. Though Victors discovery of how to create life is amazing, reason and truth are unable to exist without emotion. The introduction of advanced technology and knowledge did not only affect those that had created or possessed the technology and knowledge, but rather it created problems and raised awareness of issues among the common people in Europe which in turn led to their disapproval of the overall industrial revolution phase. Even though the continuous introduction of new machinery during the period of the Industrial Revolution generally made everyday life much easier, people didnt quite trust machines to do their jobs and most would prefer to stick to more natural methods of production. This can easily be seen within Frankenstein. When Victors monster was created it was basically a machine, created mainly for the purpose of experimentation and discovery. When the monster attempted to become a member of society, he was feared and even hated by society because of his unnatural origins. When Mary Shelley first published Frankenstein, she included a subtitle with it. That subtitle was The Modern Prometheus. Over time, the subtitles use in print shrank until it was hardly ever used, but the comparison between Frankenstein and a tale from ancient lore is one worth exploring. In classical Greek mythology, Prometheus is credited as the creator of the first humans. He shaped mankind with clay from the earth, which Athena then proceeded to breathe life into. As the creator and even father of mankind, Prometheus provided for them and equipped them with the skills necessary for survival. Prometheuss story continues when he steals the secrets of fire from the gods and gives them to man, which Zeus- the king of the gods- punished him for. He stole fire from the gods for man to encourage their growth and to enable them to thrive and discover new and amazing things. The subtitle The Modern Prometheus is juxtaposed with the primary title; Shelley compares Victor Frankenstein to the mythological father of mankind. The most obvious similarity between the two is that both characters form a living creature out of inanimate matter. Frankensteins goals are focused on creating a new species [that] would bless me as its creator and source; many happy and excellent natures would owe their being to me. No father could claim the gratitude of his child so completely as I should deserve of theirs (40). In the Romantic era, Prometheus became thought of as a symbol for modern civilization and intelligence, as well as scientific discovery. Victor also, in his early stages of growth, felt as if the world was to me was a secret which I desired to divine (22). His desire to discover the hidden secrets of the world drew him to look further than what was natural for man to create. Victor longed to go farther into the realm of scientific knowledge and to expand the potential of human development. But just like Prometheus, going past the natural limitations of what man is capable brings about consequences. Prometheus was castigated for caring for his creations too well by providing for them the necessary tools of progress. Victor, on the other hand, is revolted by his creation, and they eventually turn on each other. Victors creation of the monster is a reflection of the Industrial Revolution and a scientific era that pushed the borders of what was possible. Mary Shelley depicts a society that is forced to face a monster of their own creation.

Thursday, May 14, 2020

Overview and Significance of Zimbardo’s Prison Experiment

Overview and Significance of Zimbardo’s Prison Experiment Have you ever wondered why ordinary people do unusual things that seem alien to their natures? Why do good people sometimes act evil? Who do smart people sometimes do dumb or irrational things? Zimbardo is one of the most significant social psychologist and all his work aims to find the answers to these questions. The purpose of this paper is to go into depth on the previous prison experiment, how it came about, and how the findings play a role in society today. The Life and Times of Zimbardo Philip George Zimbardo was born in New York City on March 23, 1933. His parents originally migrated from a small town called Cammarata, about 40 miles from Palermo, Sicily. Stateside his†¦show more content†¦Eventually the prisoners started rebelling, irritating the guards purposely, and that is when the study actually began. After around three days of the guards and the prisoners going back and forth prisoner 8612 had an emotional breakdown. Originally everyone thought that he was just a weak individual but looking back at it, five other prisoners started having emotional breakdowns as well. I think this stemmed from having all their freedom, their rights taking away over night. Having to clean toilets with your bare hands, and being humiliated sexually in front of your peers. On the fifth day of the study Zimbardo invited his girlfriend to come see the experiment and when she was down there she broke down crying and left because she witnessed bags over the prisoners head as they walked to the bathroom. She said, â€Å"It’s terrible what you are doing to those boys in tears.† At first Zimbardo didn’t realize what she meant so he defended his study stating that this is the natural humanistic way but when she said â€Å"I don’t want anything to do with you if this is the real you.† He then realized what he was doing was unethical and causing real psychological harm and that moment is when he stopped his study just six days in. Reality of the Simulation This brings up the question why do â€Å"good† people do bad things? Although this was an experiment, many feel to this day that this was the real deal. Prisoners believe they lost their true identity. One prisoner stated inShow MoreRelatedEssay on Critique of Philip Zimbardos Standfard Prison Experiment1401 Words   |  6 PagesA Critique of Philip Zimbardo’s Prison Experiment â€Å"The Experiment†, an American film in 2010, was directed by Paul Scheuring, and starred by Adrian Brody, 2003 Academy Award’s Best Actor, and Forest Whitaker, a remarkable American actor and director. In the movie, an astounding experiment is conducted by a group of psychological researchers who recruit a group of volunteers to join a prison experiment for cash reward. For two weeks, twenty male participants are hired to play â€Å"prisoners† andRead MoreStephen P. Robbins Timothy A. Judge (2011) Organizational Behaviour 15th Edition New Jersey: Prentice Hall393164 Words   |  1573 Pages†¢ Coping with â€Å"Temporariness† 20 †¢ Working in Networked Organizations 20 †¢ Helping Employees Balance Work–Life Conflicts 21 †¢ Creating a Positive Work Environment 22 †¢ Improving Ethical Behavior 22 Coming Attractions: Developing an OB Model 23 An Overview 23 †¢ Inputs 24 †¢ Processes 25 †¢ Outcomes 25 Summary and Implications for Managers 30 S A L Self-Assessment Library How Much Do I Know About Organizational Behavior? 4 Myth or Science? â€Å"Most Acts of Workplace Bullying Are Men Attacking Women†

Wednesday, May 6, 2020

Philosophy Are Filled With Debates, Arguments, And Theories

Annals of Philosophy are filled with debates, arguments, and theories. One such argument would be that it is not possible to possess morality without the belief in a personal god. There are as many differing opinions on this subject as there are philosophers amongst us. I believe that believing in a god has nothing to do with moral awareness and action. I am not debating that there is a god, I am just concerned with whether or not it is possible to act morally without the belief in one. Just for clarification purposes, the term moral means â€Å"concerned with the principles of right and wrong behavior and the goodness or badness of human character† (google.com). In other words, being â€Å"a person s standards of behavior or†¦show more content†¦This causes a myriad of problems. Consider that if He were to command rape or murder, these actions would become morally good and the right thing to do. First, Kant’s argument for this existence of god is explained as a person doing something because of a moral duty to do so. For example, a person who volunteers to feed the needy at a food bank. The volunteer has nothing to gain for themselves. They are not fulfilling a community service obligation as handed down by a judge, nor are they being forced to give of their time by a higher power who had promised rewards as kind of a quid pro quo agreement. Kant asserts that moral actions must be done for the sake of duty and not from any desire for personal reward or recognition. This ability to use sovereign reason, according to Kant, comes from an instinctive sense of duty communal to all rational individuals and develops goodwill. From a utilitarian point of view, the measure of good and evil of an action is calculated by the resulting pleasure or pain. Kant insisted that human beings should never be used as a means to an end, believing it violated the dignity of the person. There is also Friedrich Nietzsche. Nietzsche believed that religion had been perverted by the practices of Christianity and Judaism, and subsequently blamed them for

Tuesday, May 5, 2020

Psychological Skills Training for Snowboarding free essay sample

Psychological skills training (PST) can be used for a number of different purposes whether related to sports, exercise, or just plain psychological counseling of one’s self. Depending upon your desired outcome from a PST program your script may help with your overall health and fitness, or to overcome situations in which you feel anxiety and pressure from. People’s lack of knowledge in PST is the main reason coaches don’t feel confident when teaching this skill set to their athletes or clients. They go about the approach to coaching in a particular setting by giving a concentration cue to a player as he/she is completing the exercise or taking the final shot or swing. What we forget to realize is the player/person isn’t going to be able to react to these cues if they haven’t practiced relaxation skills for that specific situation. Another reason why sport and exercise participants neglect PST is because of their misconception they do not have enough time to practice these PST skills to enhance their performance, little do they know it takes 10-20 minutes each day to improve these skills. Every sport, or exercise program requires a unique skill to accomplish the task or competition at hand. This is why I chose snowboarding because not only is it my new found passion, but it is a very individualized sport which requires incredible focus and relaxation. Without focus and relaxation a snowboarders routine may be affected during his/her freestyle run lowering your overall score and keeping you off the podium. Many of the elite snowboarders, including Shaun White are using PST training to prepare themselves for competitions. Most recently we’ve seen this in the 2011 Winter X games where we saw Shaun White go on to become the only 4 time repeat winner of Super pipe. Without proper mental visualization, relaxation and preparation he may not have been able to repeat this year given his age and the rising skill levels of his competitors. Relaxation Script Relaxation in snowboarding is everything both before and during a competition because of the small margin of error in extreme sports. Progressive Muscle relaxation (PMR) can be used to cope with anxiety, stress, and muscle tightness all three of which play a major role in a snowboarders ability to perform and land a trick in competition. Too much arousal before competition can lead to a rushed feeling which is never good in the extreme sports world. This is why PMR can play such a critical role in effectively controlling these sensations one may feel before and during competition. In snowboarding your lower extremities and core dictate most of the movement required for a trick. This is why we will concentrate on the relaxing the feet and legs first before core, and finally the upper extremities. The morning of competition set aside 30 minutes of alone time in a dimly lit room and have no outside distractions including other people. Wear comfortable clothes which will not interrupt thought process during the relaxation exercise. Lay completely flat with your arms at your sides and relax your entire body. Starting with your toes curl them all the way in holding them in a curled position for 10 seconds before releasing them halfway and holding for an additional 10 seconds. Once you’ve held your toes in those two positions for a total of 20 seconds relax them completely allowing the tension to release. This process should take a total of 30-45 seconds. Moving on to the calf and feet muscles push your feet and toes outwards tensing your calf muscles, continue holding them in this position for 10 seconds before allowing them to release tension to half. Hold for an additional 10 seconds in this position before allowing your calves and feet to relax. Give your calves and feet a total of 20 seconds to relax. Once you’ve worked your toes, feet, and calves we will concentrate on the two largest muscles in your legs the quadriceps, and hamstrings. Laying flat on your back with your legs straightened raise your legs 6 inches from the ground and hold with tension for 10 seconds concentrating predominantly on your quads, and hamstrings. Release this tension halfway and hold for an additional 10 seconds before releasing tension completely and lowering your legs to the ground. Further relaxing for another 10-15 seconds once your legs are lying flat on the floor. There is still one final muscle to release tension which is considered part of the legs and this is your Gluteus Maximus otherwise known as your buttocks. Laying completely flat squeeze both cheeks and hold for 10 seconds before releasing tension to halfway pausing to hold for an additional 10 seconds. Once you’ve done this you can allow them to relax completely for 10-15 seconds. After you’ve completed your feet and leg exercises we will move on to the core or abdominal range. Start by tensing your abdomen and oblique’s for 10 seconds before releasing tension to halfway for an added 10 seconds. Finally release all tension in your core and lay there for a period of 10-15 seconds of relaxation. For the next exercise roll over so you are facing the ground in a pushup position. Push yourself up from the ground to the highest point in a pushup tensing the chest and shoulder muscles. Hold this position for 10 seconds before lowering yourself halfway down and pausing for another 10 seconds keeping tension in the shoulders and chest. After 10 seconds lower yourself to the ground allowing complete relaxation for 10-15 seconds. Remain lying on your chest facing the ground; tense your upper back muscles focusing on your trapezius and posterior deltoids holding for 10 seconds. Release tension half way and hold for an additional 10 seconds before allowing your trapezoids and posterior deltoids to relax completely for the final 10 seconds. Roll back over so you are lying on your back completely flat and relaxed. Tense your mid to lower back muscles for a period of 10 seconds before letting them relax intermediately for another 10 seconds. Finally release the tension so you are lying completely flat and in a relaxed state for 10-15 seconds. Next tense your neck muscles bringing your head to your right shoulder holding that position for 10 seconds before releasing half tension and holding for another 10 seconds. Once the seconds has expired return your head to a centered position for 10-15 seconds. Repeat the previous steps now concentrating on bringing your head to left shoulder. Once you’ve completed this and have returned your head to a centered position and relaxed for 15-20 seconds bring your head forward pressing your chin into your chest for 10 seconds. Release half the tension and hold for an extra 10 seconds, finally allow your head to return to its resting state for 15-20 seconds. Lastly grit your jaw muscles as if you are going to bite your tongue and hold the tension for 10 seconds before releasing the pressure halfway and holding for another 10 seconds. Loosen the muscles in your jaw so there is no further tension, once your done lay there fully relaxed. The final part of this relaxation exercise will be for you to lie there and feel the relaxation your body is experiencing after completion of the exercise. Open your eyes after 10-15 seconds and slowly bring your knees to your chest and roll on to your butt so you are in an upright position. Sit there for 20-30 seconds until you’ve regained full consciousness, once you’ve completed this step stand up slowly regaining all senses throughout the entire body. Motivational Specific (MS) For a professional snowboarder usually the end reward means winning either the X games or the Winter Olympics. Sure there are other competitions but these are the two competitions which really matter when it comes down to it with endorsements and sponsors. These always aren’t the easiest of competitions to qualify for either, so for beginners picturing themselves winning a local competition is more realistic and attainable. From there you can continue to work your way up the pro tour visualizing yourself winning the next big competition within your grasp. MS imagery is also good for visualizing the perfect run, or landing every trick you’ve included in your routine for the contest you’re competing in. Visualizing your trick routine for a snowboarder is one of his/her most important psychologically important aspects to their sport because every trick has to be precise otherwise there are serious repercussions. To start begin by visualizing the takeoff and landing of one specific trick, if your able to land this trick in reality move on. From their link other tricks from jump to jump slowly building up your routine and trick set. Once your able to link tricks together is when you will be able to compete at a professional level. For a snowboarder he/she has to train all year around which means following winter to continue to hone their skill set. Motivational General Mastery (MGM) You’re going to wreck in the sport of snowboarding and it’s something you’re going to have to get used to otherwise it’s not your sport. MGM is a great tool for snowboarding because you have to overcome so much in competitive snowboarding to become successful. You may take dead last one competition because of two minor errors and podium the next round. So for a snowboarder to overcome previous errors in competition to win is a prime example of MGM. Confidence is also a key component in Snowboarding because of the fearlessness it takes to complete some tricks required of Pro Snowboarders. So for a Snowboarder to imagining themselves gaining success builds confidence and drives their positivism so they can become mentally tough in competition. Motivational General Arousal (MGA) Arousal isn’t always the best for extreme sports but if harnessed correctly it can become a unbeatable tool. Some snowboarders choose to listen to music when going through a run because it psyches them up and because they’ve ran through the trick routine before to the same music. The music erases the fear and anxiety one might encounter when performing a trick routine because it blocks the sound of outside distractions out. Once they’ve learned to block outside distractions they can zone into the music and the terrain park or half pipe becomes like any other they’ve practiced or competed on. Cognitive Specific (CS) In snowboarding one trick may break or make the contest for a snowboarder so for them to use CS imagery to visualize the perfect take off, rotation, speed, grab, flip, and landing is a perfect analogy. Although one trick won’t win you the contest it may get you recognized because you were the first one to complete it. Some of the best snowboarders in the world invented their own tricks and wouldn’t of been able to so without first visualizing the trick happening before performing it. Because of them the sport of snowboarding has been taken to new heights in terms of difficulty and skill and the envelope continues to be pushed by new riders. Cognitive General (CG) CG is one of the most important imagery exercises because snowboarders must rehearse an entire run in their head many times before performing in competition. In most competitions riders get two runs to achieve a score, and whoever has the best score from the judges after two runs is declared the winner. You may have thought your routine would win you the contest but another snowboarder competing has a better routine than you, and you’re forced re think your entire approach on the next run. You cannot stress the importance enough how much CG plays a role in a Snowboarders pre/during competition routines. For my mental imagery script I’m going to use a Professional Snowboarder at the 2012 Vancouver Winter Olympics competing in the Super Pipe Competition. The rider will use CS to strategize their first routine for qualifying not always performing their best or most elaborate trick only concentrating on linking together a solid run which will put them past the qualifying round. They use MS to visualize qualifying so they can compete in the finals and MGA to rehearse the routine in their head to the sound of music. Not only do they visualize reaching the finals but having the spotlight on them, thousands of fans cheering, with numerous sponsors watching them compete to gain the confidence of sponsors and fans so they can be positive throughout the run. Once they’ve qualified they will again use CS to incorporate their best tricks into one trick routine to win the competition. They will again employ the same techniques aforementioned above before they physically compete in the finals. Their first run may not go as planned or another rider like I said may outshine them. The rider must re-strategize his entire run then increasing the difficulty of tricks involved in the routine again using CS. The rider uses all 5 senses before the Final to put together the perfect run to win the gold medal at the 2012 Olympics using MGA to psyche themselves up, MS to picture themselves winning, MGM to remain positive throughout the competition even when their first run didn’t go as planned. CS would be used to imagine landing every trick of the run and CG to plan all tricks included in the final routine to win them the gold medal. Goal Setting Framework Goal setting is essential in the sport of Snowboarding because it encourages riders to break records and set new standards in the professional ranks. Without goals the sport would never have progressed as fast as it has gaining acceptance as an Olympic Sport only in recent years. Setting goals helps a rider progress from one competition to the next increasing the degree of difficulty in competitions they choose to enter. Outcome, performance, and process goals are all important components in helping a rider achieve success as a professional Snowboarder. In Snowboarding most of the money a rider will make comes from their sponsors or endorsements, the competitions provide the media attention companies want for advertising which in turn pays the athletes, not the contests themselves. The goals will be made for a current professional Snowboarder once again competing with the end reward being an Olympic Gold Medal at the 2012 Vancouver games. Outcome goals: â€Å"To win the Super Pipe competition at the 2012 Winter Olympics in Vancouver† Performance/Process goals: I will increase my world ranking so there is no doubt I will not be able to compete in the 2012 Winter Olympics. I will win the US OPEN I will win the X GAMES I will podium in every contest I enter I will gain the sponsorship of a company and sign and endorsement deal to make a career out of snowboarding. Whatever is asked of me by my sponsor I would like to sign with I will do to ensure they have my full cooperation of my talents I will practice my trick routines physically and mentally to prepare myself for competition so I can perform at the highest level for my sponsors. I will work out daily so I can remain in top physical condition so when it comes time for competition I’m ready. For the outcome goal of the 2012 Winter Olympics you will set this date for the final day of competition so you know the final result on that day. The evaluation will be determined upon my placing in the Super Pipe competition. If I win I will be rewarded a medal at the ceremony following the contest. The highest reward would obviously be winning a Gold Medal at the 2012 Olympics. The performance goals will be set oriented around the dates of the competitions so you can evaluate the rider upon my final performance. The goals will be rewarded with the final outcome of the competitions; if I am to podium the end reward would obviously be placing or winning the event. Process goals will be set weekly by your manager or by yourself in regards to what is expected of you each week by your sponsor. These goals will be evaluated by your sponsor and the media because they decide whether you make the cover, video, or contest so you can rep their brand. The goals will be rewarded with compensation from your sponsor and endorsements when you succeed and meet these goals. The rewards can come in various forms in the Snowboarding Industry, new clothes, gear, cars, trophies, medals, and even acting careers. Self-Talk Self-talk is one of the most important aspects to Snowboarding because a rider must overcome fears he/she may encounter when performing a trick or a series of tricks. When a rider is to perform in a Super Pipe contest before each trick is performed they must tell themselves in order which trick to perform at the right moment in competition. These self-talk cues are to help a rider perform the tricks in the routine in which they scripted for the competition. In snowboarding I will be using self-talk to remind myself during times of practice and competition when I falter to regain my composure. It may be something as simple to breath or as complex as telling myself to do a backside 1080 degree rotation. Using self-talk methods I will help use short phrases to help achieve my desired outcome of winning the 2012 Winter Olympics. Negative thought: â€Å"I won’t be able to land my last trick with these icy conditions† Countering to positive: â€Å" I’ve landed the same trick in worse conditions and If I’m unable to do so I won’t qualify† Neutral Statement: â€Å" Concentrate on landing every trick in my routine and let the judges worry about the final score† Negative thought: â€Å"If I fail to pass the qualifying round at this competition I won’t make the finals† Countering to positive: â€Å"Don’t worry about qualifying just go out there and complete your run and let the rest handle itself† Neutral Statement: â€Å"If I don’t qualify I have another opportunity at the next competition, if I do qualify my overall ranking will increase† Negative thought: â€Å" The competition in my qualifying group is going to be very hard to beat† Countering to Positive: â€Å"If I beat out my competitors in this group I know for certain I can compete in the finals† Neutral Statement: â€Å"Right now I’m questioning my abilities but I’m in this competition for a reason† Negative thought: â€Å" If I don’t win this competition my bonus check won’t be as much from my endorsements† Countering to positive: â€Å"I can’t wait to take my winnings and go on a vacation away from this snow for a couple days to clear my mind† Neutral Statement: â€Å"The opportunity for winning will present itself again this isn’t your only chance† Negative thought: â€Å"This competition is nationally televised if I wreck my whole family will see me take a fall† Countering to positive: â€Å"Every one of my family members is going to be watching this event and I can feel their support for me† Neutral Statement: â€Å"Even if I do wreck I’m still getting my face on T. V. and there is going to be opportunities to be on camera in the future. I plan to stop the negative self-talk whenever I take a fall instead of saying a swear word directed at myself or I can’t do it. I will tell myself â€Å"You got it† before I attempt a trick confirming to myself you’ve done it before what’s so different about this time. When I’m bracing for the landing I will say to myself â€Å"Stick it† to make sure I nail the landing every time. Gradually I will I begin to use other positive self-talk to encourage myself in competition when I’m riding in competition and practice. After completing the PST program I discovered how much I like the sport psychology field and the psychological training it takes to compete in a sport like snowboarding. Having only been snowboarding for 2 seasons now I’m only in the beginning stages of helping my own PST program to complete tricks and visualize the run ahead of me. I can only imagine the amount of time an elite professional snowboarder takes to prepare themselves before competition through a PST program. This is why I chose snowboarding because of the mental visualization to invent, attempt, and to complete a trick. Every year riders are landing more impossible tricks than the previous years because of the cognitive specific imagery professional snowboarders put into their sport. The sport is so individualized it takes a special kind of trick to win elite competitions and this is why I think sport psychology is undervalued in the pro snowboarding world. Sure I could have chosen a field I had spent many years perfecting such as personal training, or football, but I didn’t feel either had the same psychological skills it takes to carry out a trick routine in competition. I think PST is undervalued in the sport of snowboarding and I would like to continue on to graduate school in the Sport Psychology field because it’s fairly new and there is a need for it considering the mind control one must have to perform the extreme tricks required of a professional snowboarder. Recently I went snowboarding with my brother in Washington and as I was riding the chairlift up the mountain in anticipation for my next run I would visualize myself cruising down the next run hitting every feature on the way performing a trick here and there landing it and continuing on down the mountain. Whether in a leisure setting or in a competition setting the need for a program such as PST in snowboarding is something I think we will begin to see more often. Learning about PST has got my wheels turning looking ahead for future schooling in relationship to the sport psychology field because of my new found interest in it. I think the field is still extremely undeveloped and we will begin to see people emerging in this field in the near future. I hope to be one of these individuals developing in the field of Sport Psychology with the yet to come success of it.

Saturday, April 4, 2020

Justin Leung Ms. Fernandez Essays - Greek Mythology, Mythology

Justin Leung Ms. Fernandez 12/30/16 ELA p. 3 Pygmalion Essay: Many may implore to ask and know: Do we create our own identity, or does identity create us? Our identity is what explains our lifetime story: it upholds our emotions, relations, goals, pasts, strengths, and weaknesses. It gives us an impression and creates a response of our lives and time. It embodies the essential and generic character of clashing instances in which constitutes to the reality of our mortal-self. Nevertheless, our language and relationships-- our elements of expression in which create and define our being of life--are the most important factors and composition of our unique and worldly identity as human beings. The myth "Pygmalion" displays our relations of identity throughout the text. For instance, the text states, "I must choose where I love...there is no life without love. I know how you can do it. Look. I stand here. I place my hand about her; my face against hers." This demonstrates how Pygmalion of Cyprus felt dearly about the goddess Aphrodite and instantly fell in love with the statue he created depicting her. Pygmalion spoke of how his heart felt right with hers to come and expressed his relation to her in a sense that distinguished him from his desires. Thus he explained how he could not have truly loved her, but in that sense he could not have lived without his love setting forth his own thoughts and emotions in the presence of Aphrodite. In addition the myth of "Daedalus" states, "...and there, as the lad stretched his arms towards the heavens, Daedalus stepped softly behind him, placed his hands on his shoulders, and pushed" This conveys how Daedalus' actions proved his vengeful and arrogant expression at first; and that showed to Athena how he was unfit for such a noble position as her favorite. Even so, his language of distinction also changed not himself as an individual, but his relation with the Goddess Athena, indicating a relation and effectiveness between that of relation and language. Daedalus later became a comprehensive understanding man of a acceptance, honor, and loyalty in the end alongside his son, Icarus, inside the labyrinth. In brief, the myths of "Pygmalion" and "Daedalus" prove how one's own language and relation of expression is the most important contributor to the shaping of the initial identity, both in the sense of truth and morality. Pygmalion had loved Aphrodite beyond looks and all; and showed forgiveness in heart and soul. Daedalus gave a passageway of how language correlates with relation in his life with Athena and the townsfolk; of King Minos and his son, Icarus.

Sunday, March 8, 2020

The Cold War Between the United States and the Soviet Union

The Cold War Between the United States and the Soviet Union The end of World War II marked the beginning of the cold war. This war was between world’s super power nations: the United States and its allied nations against the Soviet Union and its allies on the other side. This war took place between 1946 and 1991.Advertising We will write a custom essay sample on The Cold War Between the United States and the Soviet Union specifically for you for only $16.05 $11/page Learn More According to Ted and Reim cold war was not a physical battle, but a prolonged state of competition between the United States and the Soviet Union in terms of weapon sophistication, technology advancement, economic stability and political influence (19). The aim of this article is to depict what transpired during the cold war and several factors about the Cold war. These factors include difference in ideologies between the two nations. The United States and the Soviet Union had two opposing types of government. Klaus and Lane states that the United States government supported multiparty system, democracy, capitalism, personal freedom and free elections but the Soviet Union was opposed to this system of governance. The country practiced dictatorial and communist system (17). Economically, the United States supported international free trade but the Soviet Union was opposed to it and barred free international trade. The United States and the Soviet Union had power rivalry. Both nations were fighting to dominate the other after decline of Europe. Also, there relationship had deteriorated during World War II after the United States supplied weapon to Russian opponents. Additionally, the United States had turned down Russia’s request to help in stabilizing the economy after the Second World War. Klaus and Lane state that this war came to be known as the cold war because the two sides: the Soviet Union and the United States never engaged in a physical fight. This led to use of others nations as battle fields by the se super powers to prove there supremacy (1). For instance, â€Å"during Vietnam War the Soviet Union supported North Vietnam while the United States supported South Vietnam† (Klaus and Lane 139). Klaus and Lane argue that the United States is seen as the winner of cold war, because the Soviet Union finally agreed terms of the United States which led to signing of START I treaty between George H. W. Bush and Gorbachov (185). According to this treaty, the Soviet Union agreed not to interfere with affairs of Eastern Europe. It also agreed to â€Å"establish contact with other countries and invited external investors to invest in the Soviet Union, a move they had opposed before† (Ted and Reim 128). The United States managed to defeat the Soviet Union through imposing economic sanctions. The United States destabilized the countrys oil market by â€Å"requesting Arabia to increase the oil production to cater for world’s oil demand† (Ted and Reim 124).Advertisi ng Looking for essay on history? Let's see if we can help you! Get your first paper with 15% OFF Learn More This led to deterioration of the Soviet Union economy forcing them to introduce restructuring reforms. These reforms allowed external investors to invest in the Soviet Union. In order to revive their devastated economy, â€Å"Soviet Union agreed to sign intermediate range nuclear force treaty with the United States to regulate nuclear weapon† (Klaus and Lane 192). From the cold war we learn, that any form of war has a negative impact on the economy growth. Both the Soviet Union and the United States spent a large portion of their revenue to support the cold war through funding projects to invent new sophisticated weapons, paying a large number of soldiers fighting in the war and channeling other resources towards the war. Unity among nations is crucial to the growth of the nation’s economy, because it prevents trade malpractice and sanctio ns from competitor nations. Democratic government is better as opposed to autocratic government. It is important to allow people freedom, multiparty system and free trade at local, national and international level. Also, it is essential to introduce and support international security, trade and political policies to prevent occurrence of another war. Lessons emerging from cold war have contributed to consultative decision making by countries on matters concerning international security, economy, trade and politics. In addition, these lessons are one of key factors which have led to formation of international union to create and enact policies on international security, politics, and trade. Wastage of funds on military operation in foreign country is one lesson which has not been taken in to account by modern American foreign policy. The United States up to date sends the soldiers to fight in different nations. If these military operations are not well planned, they can adversely aff ect its economy as witnessed in the Soviet Union. In addition, the United States has been developing nuclear technology and expanding its military capacity. Risks associated with these mistakes include: high chances of triggering another war, economic turmoil, lose of life and jobs and global division across interest lines. War on terror is a characteristic by product of cold war because the militia who perpetrate terror attacks are funded and supported by individuals, nations and groups with common interest against the United States.Advertising We will write a custom essay sample on The Cold War Between the United States and the Soviet Union specifically for you for only $16.05 $11/page Learn More Additionally, fight against terror attacks seems to be between the United States and its supporters against terror groups who are backed up by some nations. From the lessons of the cold war, victims of terror attacks can opt to negotiate with the terror groups to solve this problem. Also, they can use military attacks, economic and financial sanctions to destabilize these terror groups network. In conclusion, the cold war was between the United States and the Soviet Union. Although it was not physically fought on their soil, the two nations were adversely affected especially in terms of economy. The Soviet Union was much devastated by aftermath of the war and opted to sign treaties with the United States which led to the end of the cold war in 1991. Klaus, Larres and Anne Lane. The cold war: Essential reading. Massachusetts: Blackwell publishers Inc, 2001. Print. Ted, Gottfried and Melanie Reim. The cold war. New Milford: The Millbrook Inc, 2003. Print.

Friday, February 21, 2020

Compare Dante's Hell to Muslim's Hell and Heaven Essay

Compare Dante's Hell to Muslim's Hell and Heaven - Essay Example He categorized various sins in according to their degrees of seriousness and produced the image of hell in parts which have an authority to punish the sins of a particular degree.1 According to Dante, there are nine circles that constitute the hell and are located within the earth. The religion of Islam has also got a very vivid image of hell which is explained in great detail in its literature i.e. Quran and Hadith. Prophet Muhammad (P.B.U.H) is believed to have visited the hell himself when he went on Miraj" (Quran 17:1). Muslims belief in hell is quite different from Dantes hell in many ways. These differences are discussed in the coming paragraphs. The first difference between the two hells is of location. Dantes hell is believed to be within the earth, preferably underground. Muslims hell, on the other hand, is not located within the earth. Prophet Muhammad (P.B.U.H) travelled at more than the speed of light upwards in the sky. That gives us an idea how far the hell is from the earth. He travelled seven skies and it is not possible for normal human beings to go beyond the boundary of even the first sky while they are alive. Second really important difference is of the constituents of the two hells. Dantes inferno consists of nine circles namely Limbo, lust, gluttony, greed, anger, heresy, violence, fraud, treachery. Muslim hell is a one gargantuan place which is larger than the planet earth. Another distinction between the two concepts is that in Dante’s inferno, people who prayed for forgiveness before their deaths are not found in hell but they labor for their freedom from their sins. Islam teaches that this world is a place of doing good deeds and refrain from sins. Forgiveness is granted in abundance by Allah. Even a person who has committed hundred murders can be forgiven in his life at once if he asks for Allah’s forgiveness from the deepest pit of his heart and does not repeat his sins. The first